Book review

Time to Say Goodbye – Blog Tour, Book Review

Hello, I am back from my month long break, with the review of a lovely read. I am participating in my first ever Blog Tour, its sure is exciting. The publisher is one of my favorites and the author – this is his debut title. Quite a few debuts herein, a debut title, author and my own debut blog tour 🙂 Before I start rambling praises about the debuts let me tell you all about the lovely – Time to say Goodbye written by S.D Robertson [more about him at the end of the review].

BlogTourTTSG

 

Book:

Title: Time to say Goodbye
Author: S. D. Robertson
Publisher: Avon UK [An imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.]
Published: February 2016
Format reviewed: eBook
Rating: 4 stars

TTSG

 

Story:

HOW DO YOU LEAVE THE PERSON YOU LOVE THE MOST?

Will Curtis’s six-year-old daughter, Ella, knows her father will never leave her. After all, he promised her so when her mother died. And he’s going to do everything he can to keep his word.

What Will doesn’t know is that the promise he made to his little girl might be harder to keep than he imagined. When he’s faced with an impossible decision, Will finds that the most obvious choice might not be the right one.

But the future is full of unexpected surprises. And father and daughter are about to embark on an unforgettable journey together…

 

Professions of the main characters: Journalist and a school kid.

 

My Thoughts: The main theme of the story is almost like the folklore we grow up with in India. Where I live, when someone dies, we are usually very solemnly yet casually informed about the stages of what happens to the human soul after death. We have a sense of familiarity with the topic because the conversations surrounding death have a Business as usual tone. Of course as kids & later as adults we never paid attention to the afterlife mumbo jumbo; but we get the general idea. This is the only time where I get a bit Spoiler Alert ‘y – mentioning the whole after death, ghost/spirit business.

The theme though familiar struck me with quite a blow and the story calmed me right down, if that makes sense to you. The voices in my head went mute and I was engrossed. Every now and then, especially at the beginning of the story, I went through the ‘what if’ scenarios and how I would feel/react if it happened to me. That’s also the beginning of a few streams of tears. We, as part of religion, in India are taught, almost as a compulsion, not to form/ have attachment’s, even with our family. For a simple reason they say is ‘it’s easier at the time of death’. But human nature doesn’t follow those rules and subconsciously we easily form attachments. Not everyone is able to die without a single thought of their loved ones. What William, in the story, went through was something I understood in a way that I agreed that what he felt was true. There were moments when I teared up, heart breaking moments when he was helpless, the feelings of anger, frustration were moving and felt emotionally raw.

It’s true that our decisions have to be self-made with minimal or no interference from others. No one knows exactly how we feel in our shoes, they may take an almost similar guess, but that’s about it. The dynamic between Lizzie and Will in the story is straight forward but an important lesson in decision making. The way Lizzie guided William and his reluctance, at times stubborn attitude was emotional to witness and a touch frustrating at times. There were moments when I wanted to scream at Will and ask him to get done with it, stop confusing the little girl, say goodbye and let everyone move on. That’s when I realized it’s his decision to make and what I want or how many tears I shed isn’t important. It was the characters decision to make and decide how his actions or lack of them would affect his daughter. In the end his decision did make me smile and I was relieved, happy to see that there will be a Goodbye.

I tried my best not to giveaway the story line, but I know you either got the hint, or are confused and just want to pick up a copy and know what’s got me talking about a book, death and goodbye like above. Let me help you a bit; there are 9 stops in this Blog Tour, this is the 6th, 3 more to go. Read all of the posts/ reviews and if curiosity gets the better of you, go buy the book and join in the conversation here in comments, on other blogs on this tour, or on Twitter with the hashtag #saygoodbye

For a debut author, this is quite an unusual topic paired with brilliant writing. My congratulations and best wishes to S.D Robertson. Looking forward to read more of his work.

Buy a copy here:

Amazon India

Amazon US

Meet the author, Mr. S.D. Robertson

SDRobertsonBW

Image source: Author’s website

An English graduate from the University of Manchester, he’s also worked as a holiday rep, door-to-door salesman, train cleaner, kitchen porter and mobile phone network engineer.

Over the years Stuart has spent time in France, Holland and Australia, but home these days is back in the UK. He lives in a village near Manchester with his wife and daughter. There’s also his cat, Bernard, who likes to distract him from writing – usually by breaking things.

 

Reviewed by Bharti

 

 

One thought on “Time to Say Goodbye – Blog Tour, Book Review

Leave a Reply

