Book review

Book Review: Dark Sexy Knight by Katy Regnery

Yay, I have Katy Regnery’s latest modern fairy tale and I loved it. It’s Dark, Sexy and sexy, yes you read it right 😉 Read on for more about this gorgeous story. By the way do you know All books in Katy Regnery’s a m o d e r n f a i r y t a l e collection are also written as fundraisers. Read more about it Here.

Dark Sexy Knight
Dark Sexy Knight

 

About The Book:

 

Title: Dark Sexy Knight {A Modern Fairy tale, inspired by “The Legend of Camelot”}

Author: Katy Regnery

Publisher: Katy Regnery

Release Date: 5th June 2016

Format reviewed: eBook

Ratings: 6/5 It exceeded my expectations and took my breath away, so all the stars you can count I will give it to this story.

 

Story:

Loosely inspired by “The Legend of Camelot,” Dark Sexy Knight tells the story of dinner theater knight, Colt Lane, who meets down-on-her-luck, Verity Gwynn, on the worst day of her life. Evicted from their home, Verity, and her special needs brother, Ryan, must find jobs or risk being separated. Colt, who is the furthest possible thing from a white knight in real life, comes to their unlikely rescue, quickly cementing his place in Verity’s heart.

Buried deep inside, Colt has dark secrets that keep his smile hidden and his eyes down, which has worked to keep people away…until he meets Verity, who seems immune to his gruff manners and taciturn ways. The more time Colt spends with her, the more he longs for her sweetness in his life and yearns to be the knight-in-shining-armor she so desperately needs. Certain he will lose her if she understands his past, he must decide if he can trust her with his yesterday in order to build a blissful tomorrow.

This is a standalone novel inspired by “The Legend of Camelot.”

Contemporary Romance: Due to profanity and very strong sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18.

 

 

My Thoughts:

Colton and Verity are the lead characters in Dark Sexy Knight; due to circumstances and Colton’s big heart they end up living together along with Verity’s differently abled elder brother. In simpler words it’s a story of how 2 people, while caring for special needs siblings, make a beautiful life together. I wanted to give you a heads up as I will be swooning, dropping some “Spoilers” in the rest of the review. Hope you enjoy the story as much as I did.

Oh god Dark Sexy Knight simply took my breath away and made me weep tears of pure joy. There was hardly a time while reading when I wasn’t smiling and the ending, I bloody wept like I had lost my sweet place. Taking from Verity’s words in the story where she says Colton is her Family, Love, Happiness, Safety and Home, that is exactly what Dark Sexy Knight stands for me, these are the same words I live my life by. So, when I say DSK took my breath away with its storyline you can only imagine how profound I must feel and no words can completely describe how much close Dark Sexy Knight hit home to me. In this world any person different, than what society considers normal, is discriminated against and is abused either out of fear/ignorance/arrogance or pure evil & meanness. To have someone in your life not only to understand your protectiveness towards your ‘different person’ but to stand shoulder to shoulder with you in caring and loving this person is pure bliss. Colton n Verity found their bliss in each other which only gives me Hope.

A warrior in today’s time is one who will fight both the physical and emotional battles just to make sure his loved ones are protected and Colton won my heart by doing just that. Verity and her uncertainties about Colton are adorable and realistic. She has the same worries and questions we all have in a new relationship; seeing Colton fighting his feelings & then doing the exact thing the very next moment just turned me to Mush. The sibling love is exactly like it should be unwavering in terms of dedication yet having moments when you are completely out of your wits. There is nothing we will leave unturned in order to ensure our family’s safety and happiness and make them feel loved; Colton and Verity, with every breath they took proved this and then some. It is rare to see this kind of simple and straightforward human behavior in fiction, and when I did read it, I was happy it was in a Katy Regnery book. Katy with every story of yours it’s like falling in love a little harder, deeper than possible, you simply enslave us to your writing for life. A bit tighter, bit stronger with every book.

Katy’s stories make me feel a part of them, every one of them that I have read; her last Ginger’s Heart is still Raw in my memory and now Dark Sexy Knight, I am a slave to her writing. The brilliant narration which shows a life pure, raw and simple in its emotions is what makes her book memorable for me. Needless to say this is one of the best stories I have read, like ever, not just this year and to say another one is also written by Katy, should be reason enough Dear Reader for you to read Dark Sexy Knight like right away.

My most favorite bits of the story

  • Verity describing how Colton looked on their first date night; Man, Colton Lane made me feel naughty; like I wanted to get hold of my guy and play dress up, see him exactly like Colton on date night.
  • Verity’s thoughts, uncertainty, her Qs about how Colton felt about them as compared to how she felt & wanted him to feel, Phew these feelings hit home closer than you can imagine. We all, at some point, feel this way especially about that someone we really, really like no matter how new they’re to us.
  • There is a moment in the story where Colton: “He inhaled deeply, his chest expanding into her back as his arms held her tightly”, this desperate and vulnerable gesture from Colton made me fall for him all over again and jealous of Verity.
  • My favorite Colton lines in the story: ‘I’m just a man with a million flaws’.
  • Men n Cars examples:-D “It’s just not in my make and model.”
  • For me DSK is: “Family. Love. Safety. Home. Happiness

 

Author ‘The #wordmagician’

 

Katy Regnery
Katy Regnery

 

Katy Regnery, award-winning and Amazon bestselling author, started her writing career by enrolling in a short story class in January 2012. One year later, she signed her first contract for a winter romance entitled “By Proxy.”

Now a hybrid author who publishes both independently and traditionally, Katy claims authorship of the six-book Heart of Montana series, the six-book English Brothers series, and a Kindle Worlds novella entitled “Four Weddings and a Fiasco: The Wedding Date,” in addition to the standalone novels, Playing for Love at Deep Haven and Amazon bestseller, The Vixen and the Vet.

The Vixen and the Vet is included in the charity anthology Hometown Heroes: Hotter Ever After, and Katy’s novella “Frosted” will appear in the upcoming (Jan ’15) anthology, Snowy Days Steamy Nights. Additionally, Katy’s short story, “The Long Way Home” appeared in the first RWA anthology (Feb ’15), Premiere.

Katy lives in the relative wilds of northern Fairfield County, Connecticut, where her writing room looks out at the woods, and her husband, two young children, and two dogs create just enough cheerful chaos to remind her that the very best love stories begin at home.

Connect with Katy

WebsiteE-mail  │ Facebook  │ FB groupTwitterGoodreadsAmazon

 

Book Buy Links:

Amazon India 

 

Reviewed by Bharti

Leave a Reply

