Book Cover Reveal

Book Cover Reveal – The Escape by C. L. Taylor 

I bring to you #bookworms today a book cover reveal. The SUN (newspaper giants) has good things to say about it and the publisher – Avon Books UK has big things planned for this March 2017 release. Rightly so because the story is one which will leave you scared, lost and a bit more scared… Continue reading Book Cover Reveal – The Escape by C. L. Taylor 

Book review

Never Gone by Anusha Subramanian, Book Review

​Teenage/Young adult/New adult/Middle Grade whatever category it falls under, I rarely read stories with teenagers or characters barely out of their teenage years. It’s just that I find their situations overwhelming when I sub consciously compare their emotions with my own teenage years. Today teenagers are experiencing a whole lot more of life than we… Continue reading Never Gone by Anusha Subramanian, Book Review

Book review

JC and the Bijoux Jolis by Katy Regnery, Blog Tour ~ Book Review

​ A perfectly strong, made for each other love story to end the year on Blueberry Lane. Jean Christian and Libitz are brilliant together in every way. Well done Katy.  ​Book Title: JC and the Bijoux Jolis Author, Publisher: Katy Regnery Published: November 2016 Format: eBook Rating: 5/5 Story J.C. and the Bijoux Jolis is… Continue reading JC and the Bijoux Jolis by Katy Regnery, Blog Tour ~ Book Review

Book review

A Suitable Lie by Michael J Malone, Book Review

​Domestic violence is never an easy topic to discuss, read, write or think about never mind the horrifying thought of actually experiencing it. There was a time, of which there still remains a strong legacy even today, when it was equated with women getting beaten up, abused or even killed by primarily their husbands and… Continue reading A Suitable Lie by Michael J Malone, Book Review

Book review

Brides & Bouquets at Cedarwood Lodge by Rebecca Raisin, Love Reading Romance Blog Tours – Excerpt and Book Review

November is flying away and I am glad 2016 is close to an end. Been a mixed year but books have been a salvation and good so far.  On good books, I review the warm, fuzzy feel good part 2 of the Cedarwood Lodge series, with the lovely Love Reading Romance blog tours. Brides and Bouquets continues Clio Winter’s… Continue reading Brides & Bouquets at Cedarwood Lodge by Rebecca Raisin, Love Reading Romance Blog Tours – Excerpt and Book Review

Book review

The Mountain in my Shoe by Louise Beech, Book Review

The Mountain in my Shoe, is also a popular saying and might remind you of something Muhammad Ali said in one of his numerous  interviews. He said ‘sometimes a little pebble in your shoe will do your head in’. True, it is not the big things but the small, tiny details that bother and nag you… Continue reading The Mountain in my Shoe by Louise Beech, Book Review

Book review

Jungle Rock by Caroline James, Book Review

Caroline James is a couple of books old and already well known for her Romantic comedies. I have read one other book by her – Coffee, Tea, The Carribean and Me and trust me it had me laughing and giggling with such joyous abandon. Her stories are pure warmth, love, friendship and humour. Her characters will stay… Continue reading Jungle Rock by Caroline James, Book Review

Book review

One half from the East by Nadia Hashimi, Book Review

​Afghanistan based stories are rich in the human experience. The stories that come out of there are deeply immersed in afghani culture and traditions; At times so prominent of the local legends and practices that it’s baffling and beautiful at the same time. One half from the east is one such baffling yet beautiful, coming of… Continue reading One half from the East by Nadia Hashimi, Book Review

Book review

The Gingerbread Girl by Sheila Newberry, Book Review

I do love a family saga, multi generational, war time story. Earlier this year I read Sheila Newberry’s The house at No. 5, it was the first time I read any book by her. Her story made me a fan of her writing and when she read my review and commented on it, I was super happy. Ever since I’ve been consciously looking for more books by Sheila and grabbed a couple off NetGalley. Needless to say I absolutely loved Haybales and Hollyhocks, and this one is simply heartwarming and inspiring.

Book

Title: The Gingerbread Girl

Author: Sheila Newberry

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Publishing

Published: November 2016

Format reviewed: eBook

Rating: 4/5

Time period: 1930’s  

Story

All she wanted was a home for Christmas

London, 1936

Ill and stuck in hospital at Christmas, seven year old Cora Kelly is excited to receive a visit from her mother, who brings her the gift of a gingerbread man. But little does Cora know that this will be the last time she sees her . . .

As Cora continues her recovery on a farm in the beautiful Norfolk countryside, tragedy strikes her family and she moves back to London with her new guardian, Eliza.

Here they live a happy, if simple, life. But, as the Second World War approaches, and the past comes knocking, everything changes.

Will Cora be able to escape the inevitable, or is she destined to repeat her parents’ mistakes?

For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Gingerbread Girl is a heart-warming, festive novel from the Queen of family saga, Sheila Newberry. 

My thoughts

The Gingerbread Girl is the story of Cora Kelly; 15 years of Cora’s life from being desperately ill to finding her feet in the post war world and flourishing. The story starts with a 7 year old Cora, recovering in a hospital, away from her mother. Once out of the hospital instead of going home to her beloved mother, whom she is desperate to meet, Cora is met and whisked off to a new house by Eliza. Eliza is her mother’s close friend, co worker and someone who will have an important place in Cora’s future.

Back from the hospital, Cora recovers at Eliza’s aunt’s farm. At the farm Cora gains her health back, makes friends with the family and even experience the first rays of young love. In the next 15 years Cora grows into a strong, hard working young lady who experiences the joys, love, friendships, heartbreaks, sorrows and hardships in the midst of ww2.

Post war Cora goes through a personal transformation and soon we see her overcome odds, heartbreak and come into her own. She is strong, happy and resilient. She takes whatever life throws her way and manages to come out stronger, she learns to smile, cry and experience life to the fullest.

Like Cora, Eliza, her caretaker and later step mother, too is a strong character. She lives life as per her rules and gives life and happiness a chance, she doesn’t shy away from hardwork and doesn’t hesitate letting happiness in her life. Cora’s character is such a relatable, warm, full of strength and dignity that it was easy to root for her. I soon got invested and was wrapped up in her family life and war, surrounding the milestones of her life. At times I forgot I was in the 21st century and was happily taken back to the war time and the post war zealous, enthusiastic building of a society and personal lives. 

From a young child to a young working, happy woman of 22, Cora and her family manage to portray a well rounded family. A family that survives hardship, a war and still manages to find smiles, love and happiness in the relationships they form in their life times. A full of life story which will take you back to the early 20th century when war was at Europe’s doorstep and how people did their best. 

Book buy link: Kindle India 

The eBook is at a great price – ₹69 only, currently, last checked at the time of publishing this review, so download it soon as you can. 

About the author

Sheila Newberry’s has been writing stories from a very young age and while she is not on Social Media o manage to find some details about her on the Romance Novelist Association’s website here 

Reviewed by Bharti 

Book review

Pound of Flesh by Mukul Deva, Book Review

​Wow what a brilliant story.  I have not read any of the previous books in the Ravinder Gill series. Not exactly the Jack Teacher type hero but a worthy effort from the author. It’s India’s cop fighting the crime monsters. A hero which is much more relatable to the foreign ones. The situations, crimes, police… Continue reading Pound of Flesh by Mukul Deva, Book Review