Book review

Brides & Bouquets at Cedarwood Lodge by Rebecca Raisin, Love Reading Romance Blog Tours – Excerpt and Book Review

November is flying away and I am glad 2016 is close to an end. Been a mixed year but books have been a salvation and good so far. 

On good books, I review the warm, fuzzy feel good part 2 of the Cedarwood Lodge series, with the lovely Love Reading Romance blog tours. Brides and Bouquets continues Clio Winter’s next event after the anniversary party she organised in part 1 – Confetti and Celebrations.  Read on for what comes next.

The Cedarwood Lodge is a wonderful new romance told in 3 parts – Celebrations & Confetti, Brides & Bouquets, and Midnight & Mistletoe at Cedarwood Lodge. 


Book


Title: Brides & Bouquets [Part 2 of Cedarwood Lodge Series]

Author: Rebecca Raisin

Publisher: Carina UK

Published: November 2016

Format reviewed: eBook

Rating: 5/5

City [s] set in: Evergreen,New Hampshire.

Time period: Contemporary

Professions of main characters: Hotel owner

Story:

Dreaming of a happily ever after at Cedarwood Lodge is Clio Winters’ current focus, especially with a winter wonderland wedding expo planned. But with brides coming from far and wide the heat is on for Clio to fulfil everyone’s dream of a Christmas wedding!

It seems like Clio’s new business might be off to a rocky start and surrounded by love struck brides she can’t help but hope for a little Christmas romance of her own…

Excerpt

Clio,

I hope the bridal expo goes off without a hitch. Have I told you yet that I’m glad you came home? Life was never really the same after you left. Looking forward to that dinner whenever you’re free.
Timothy x

Life was never really the same? But he got married and had a family about three minutes after I was out of sight! I’m sure I wasn’t on his mind one little bit. I didn’t hold any grudge or strong feeling about it – we’d been so young, really. But still, he had moved on fairly quickly. Would something bloom between us if I just let go and lived for the moment? The same niggle bothered me. Kai. Even if nothing happened with him, would it be fair to date Timothy when secretly my heart beat a double rhythm when I thought of my Australian surfer guru?

Taking my cell, I hastily sent Timothy a thank you text back, avoiding any talk about the dinner date invitation.

This was why I loved work. Being busy gave me the ability to shelve any boy dilemma and focus on the task at hand. I found a crystal vase and took the bouquet to my office. That done, I went back to the ballroom and checked off my list.

Every vendor was accounted for, set up and ready to go. Isla and Micah had the activities organized. Aunt Bessie was getting her donuts out of the van and ready to serve… so what was I missing? I’d forgotten something, I could feel it.

I wandered around the tables we’d set up in different themes, lifting champagne flutes, checking for smudges. The cutlery was lined up perfectly reflecting prisms of light from the chandeliers. Georges would serve canapes as soon as the guests –

Georges! Normally he’d be singing and bellowing in the kitchen, foodie scents wafting down the hallway making my mouth water, but I hadn’t seen him arrive yet. I dashed down the hall to check. The kitchen was empty, not a pot on the stove and more worryingly not a sign of Georges. Snatching up the phone I called him, picturing the worst – a car crash, the roads were slippery this time of year. My heart was in my throat by the time he answered on the third ring.

“Hi Clio, did you get my message? I’m sorry to let you down like this, but I couldn’t say no, you understand, don’t you?

Blood drained from my face as I checked my watch. Three hours until our brides were due and my chef was telling me he wasn’t coming. Trying to halt the erratic beat of my heart I said, “What message, Georges? Where are you?”

My Thoughts:

In part 2 Clio is catering to the Brides she would like to host at the Cedarwood Lodge. Cue – A Bridal expo around Christmas time, displaying the Lodge in its winter glory, surrounded by beauty of festive, snowtime.

Where there are brides there’s bound to be a few dramas and Clio handles the bridezillas with aplomb. She calms frazzled nerves, bitchy negotiators and food drama with calm and poise. In part 2 it’s all about settling down and making an action plan for the future – both for the Cedarwood Lodge and personal plans. 

Clio is determined to make a success of the lodge and sort out her personal relationships too, especially one with her mother. She might not be closer to having the relationship she wishes to have with her mother, but she makes good progress in the right direction. She ruffles a few more than desired feathers of both her mother and the townspeople intent on keeping the Lodge’s past a secret from Clio. But atleast she’s on the right track. 

While the future of the lodge is looking promising with a successful bridal expo under her belt her personal life is still missing the Magic. Clio has her best friends and their partners as the dream team for her Lodge, she is surrounded by love, warmth and friendship. Surrounded by everything she wished for, well almost. With her mom more closed off and the surfer, gypsy Kai is still in the friend zone, Clio is cautious. She tries her best to test waters without burning the friendship bridge with Kai, when he’s back for a quick work trip to the Lodge. Will she be able to bring the magic of romance in her personal life remains to be seen in part 3. 

Clio is such a relatable and lovable character that it’s bound to involve the reader and I couldn’t help but compare my life with Clio’s. She is a friendly, ambitious girl who wants to achieve success on her terms doing exactly what she dreamed of as a young kid. She is willing to push back finding the great love of her life if it means dedicating more time to making her dreams possible. Is it bad, for some it may be but Clio is doing her best and she does day dream about a certain, hot Australian surfer. So while she plays cupid for her best friends Micah and Amory we hope Cupid surprises Clio with her own soul mate. 

The story progresses well with a festive, friendly atmosphere, love and happiness in the air. The Cedarwood Lodge comes alive with all the festive  touches, surrounded by snow outside and warm fire and magical fairy lights inside. With yummy hot chocolate, Christmas cookies and friends to talk away the hours with part 2 ended before I knew it. 

Rebecca brings Cedarwood Lodge alive with her whimsical, touch of mystery descriptions and so much beauty that I would jump on a plane and spend some precious time surrounded by snow and some Midnight yoga. 

What you waiting for bookworms download both the parts and get experience the warmth and beauty of Cedarwood Lodge for yourselves. 

Book Buy link: Kindle India

Author

Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been published in various short story anthologies and in in fiction magazines, and is now focusing on writing romance.

Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships, and most importantly believe in true love.

Connect with Rebecca via 

Website | Facebook | Twitter |Goodreads

Reviewed by Bharti

 

Leave a Reply

