Book review

Blog Tour #bookreview A Cottage Full of Secrets by Jane Lovering @rararesources @janelovering

Hello lovely readers, I wish you a happy, content 2022. Today’s #bookreview is for one of my favourite author’s latest book. Happy Reading and Discovering new authors and stories.

Book

Title : A Cottage Full of Secrets
Author : Jane Lovering
Genre: Romance
Blog Tour Dates: 15th – 21st February 2022
Publication Date: 15th February 2022
Publisher: Boldwood Books
Standalone Novel

Story

Cottage Two, Bracken Ridge Farm sits at the end of a pitted track, with the glorious Yorkshire moors stretching behind it.
Just a simple two up, two down, the cottage holds the promise of a new start for two very different women, but it is also full of secrets.
Fifty years ago, newly-wed Stella is relishing making the little cottage a happy home. But for all the lovingly handmade curtains, and the hot dinners ready on the table for her husband, Stella’s dreams of married life jar painfully with the truth.
Fifty years later, the cottage is a new beginning for Tamzin. Determined to get away from her previous life, she makes the move to the wild and vast Yorkshire countryside.
When Tamzin finds a sepia photo of a woman, Stella, standing in the cottage’s garden, there’s a sadness in her eyes that Tamzin recognises. As the cottage reveals more of its secrets, Tamzin is desperate to find out whether Stella got her happy ending. And as she gradually makes new friends, and starts to win over her mysterious neighbour Euan, Tamzin dares to dream about her own happy ending too…

Escape the rat race with this heart-warming, page-turning new novel from Jane Lovering. Perfect for fans of Julie Houston, Beth O’Leary and Kate Forster

My thoughts

A cottage full of secrets by Jane Lovering, is the story I am sharing my thoughts about today. It is the author’s latest, and before I go any further I would like to state that Jane is one of my favourite authors. Also, I read and enjoy all of her writing. Jane’s previous title, the one before this was set on a farm which was almost isolated and had few neighbours far in between it. Continuing with that theme this story is also set in the wilderness with an exception of 2 cottages next to each other.

The characters Tamzim and Euan are quirky characters who have been burnt in life by previous relationships. Bracken Ridge Farm with it’s 2 cottages and it’s residents is our story’s setting as begins with Tamzim newly taking possession of Cottage 2. With a new house, wild surroundings, a quirky pet and mysterious neighbour keeps Tamzim on her toes while she settles in her new house. With a little help from the local handywoman Tamzim and Euan become friends and more comfortable around each other.

The story is slow paced and doesn’t offer much in terms of lovely surroundings of a happening village life or gossipy neighbours. Though it more than makes up for it the way of the cottage having it’s own secrets which Tamzim discovers by chance on her first day itself. Being a writer herself Tamzim soon becomes interested to know about the history of the cottage. Slowly and steadily she makes the cottage her home, gets to know the story of the previous residents of the cottage. I really did enjoy the story within the story part of this book and the characters Tamzim, Euan a couple of friends do hold your attention long enough to enjoy the story.

I do not have much to complain about except the setting of the story was tad bleak and off putting in the beginning. Except that it is a story I’d enjoy on a slow, cold day by the fire.

Author

Jane Lovering is the bestselling and award-winning romantic comedy writer who won the RNA Novel of the Year Award in 2012 with Please Don’t Stop the Music. She lives in Yorkshire and has a cat and a bonkers terrier, as well as five children who have now left home. Her first title for Boldwood was published in September 2020.

Social Media Links – 

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Jane-Lovering-Author-106404969412833/  
Twitter   – https://twitter.com/janelovering
Newsletter Sign Up – https://bit.ly/JaneLoveringNewsletter


Reviewed by Bharti (Bee)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s