Book review · Reading Wrap Up

Reading Wrap Up – Mini Reviews, March 2019

Hiya lovely readers, hope you had a good reading month. I managed to read some great stories, let me tell about them. Happy Reading.

1: Space by Penny Reid

I loved the simplicity and straightforwardness of the characters and how they confess to each other about their feelings. More on it here.

2: One Last Greek Summer by Mandy Baggot

Releasing June 2019. I loved this holiday story, I have a full review coming around release time.

3: Sparrow by L. J. Shen

Released

A mafia romance, a bad boy and a young, ambitious chef.

4: Sleep by C. L. Taylor

Releasing April 2019

My first by the author, Sleep is a crime-suspense thriller. A full review coming soon.

5: The Object of your Affections by Falguni Kothari.

Released February 2019

A desi-scot mix drama which I enjoyed to bits.

6: Carnegie Hill by John Vatner

Releasing August 2019

I read an advanced copy of this title via Netgalley. The overall effect was sad and I wouldn’t recommend it.

7 – Meet Cute by Helena Hunting

This was such a nice read just like it’s title and the old school, made famous by Hollywood phenomenon of Meet Cute. I enjoyed the characters and their love story with the warmth of friendship.

8 – Frosted by Katy Regnery

A novella which had good bones of a story but felt rushed.

9 – By Proxy by Katy Regnery

The author’s first novel and it reminded me why I fell in love with her writing. A good story.

10 – Blogger Girl by Meredith Schorr

This story is everything fun, light, easy to read, bit mushy and swoony, a good chicklit is supposed to be.

11 – Finding Home by Lauren Westwood

Aghh! I am more a fan of Lauren’s later books than this, her first I believe. The heroine was annoying and too persistent to my liking. A good story made bearable by the greater good at the heart of it.

12 – Out of Sight by Giana Darling

A quick, fast paced packed with action and fantastic steamy chemistry between its lead pair. I enjoyed this novella the author sent across for free.

13 – Vicious by L. J. Shen

All I will say is I enjoyed reading every bit of this Hate to Love story by L. J. Shen who is becoming a favorite of mine for angsty, intense love stories. Vicious has the anti hero and a sassy heroine who doesn’t hesitate to put him in place and also kiss him when she feels she can’t survive not doing so.

14 – Austenistan Edited by Laleen Sukhera

This is a collection of short stories set in Pakistan inspired or rather drawing parallels between Austen’s themes and the Pakistani culture. I was well and truly engaged in these short stories and loved them all but a few.

15 – Spring Skies over Bluebell Castle by Sarah Bennett

This one felt like reading a historical story but in a contemporary setting. It was a cosy bubble in the castle and I was lost in their exploration and adventures in the Castle.

16 – The Judge’s Wife by Ann O’ Laughlin

Ann is brilliant author who weaves magic and presents the past and present in a way which makes me enjoy the story, it’s characters and their lives. I was happy reading about the love story, heartbroken about the sheer unfairness of certain beliefs of the 1950’s Ireland and the twist towards the end simply won me.

17 – Rachel’s Pudding Pantry by Caroline Roberts.

Releasing May

Set on a farm in a picturesque surrounding Rachel and her small family make a go of bettering their fortunes. With some great friends as neighbors and delicious sweet treats always in the oven this is a perfect holiday read.

18 – Entralled by Giana Darling.

Released.

A book which made me feel a whole lot of emotions, good, bad and everything in between. A full review coming soon.

19 – Maybe this time by Jill Mansell

Releasing June.

A nice, cosy summer read. Full review soon.

20 – Pride, Prejudice and Other Flavors by Sonali Dev

Releasing May

I love Pride and prejudice on all it’s retellings this one was great. Full review soon.

So those are the 20 stories I read in March. I would say I enjoyed most except a couple and it was a good reading month. Also, April and May are personally busy for me and reading will be slow except for prior blog commitments.

Hope you find something for your reading lists from the above. Comment and let me know if you have read any of the above. Happy Summers.

Blogger , Reviewer – Bee

Leave a comment