Book review · Christmas Stories

What Happens at Christmas by TA Williams – Book Review

December is here and that means a lot of Christmas books around. I will be doing as many as possible reviews of Christmas based stories, all month. The 1st review, in Christmas on 27 Book Street, is by a new-to-me author TA Williams and I am pleasantly surprised and loved his latest, based on Christmas, story.

WHAC Cover jpeg(1)Book:

Title: What Happens at Christmas
Author: TA Williams
Publisher: Carina
Published: October 2015
Format reviewed: eBook
Professions of main characters: Screenplay writer and Engineer, I will not tell you who’s who as that’s the fun part and a surprise for when you start reading.
Rating: 4 stars

Blurb
:

For the perfect Christmas…
When career-girl Holly Brice learns that her estranged father has died, she decides to take a trip down memory lane and find out about the man she never knew.
Arriving in the sleepy little Dartmoor village, she’s shocked to discover that she’s inherited the cosy, little cottage she remembers so fondly, a whole load of money – and her father’s adorable dog, too!
Head to snow-covered Devon!
And as the first snowflakes begin to fall and Holly bumps into her gorgeous neighbor, Jack Nelson, life gets even more complicated! Men have always been off the cards for high-flying Holly, but there’s something about mysterious writer Jack that has her re-thinking her three-date rule…

My Thoughts:

I was pleasantly surprised by the story. It’s the 1st book I have read by this author and I loved it. The professions of the characters, the way they handled their emotions and overall situations was very interesting and proper, if I may say so. Since this is a story, I loved it; if it was in real life and someone near me behaved that way I wouldn’t have exactly the same reaction, unless I knew the whole story, as I did to these lovely characters. The situations and reactions of the characters resonated well with me and that’s what kept me engaged in the story. So instead of chapter’s there’s 10 Days, during which the story takes place, the past unravels and the present makes sense promising a more content and clear future. It was heartwarming and teary eyed to read how the past was explained via initially strangers, letters and unopened Christmas gifts; the thoughtfulness made me smile and happy for Holly. The drama-less emotions were refreshing, though some scenes felt posh and a bit ugh for their portrayal of the usual small community gossips. But these things didn’t matter in the bigger picture. But there is also regret, longing and grief; now regret is a funny emotion, it makes you do things which are sometimes wonderful other times horrible. And the way the characters handled these emotions didn’t leave a bitter taste just made me a bit sad and think that you got to try a bit hard just before giving up. Sometimes that extra bit might pay off and spare you the sadness or life time of regret. What makes it wonderfully engaging is the simplicity of the little things, like having moments of pure love and affection, happiness and sadness. By the end of the story, like the lead couple I could hear the silent music and the kiss under the mistletoe was magic. This story made me wanna go find an invite for Christmas lunch.

It’s a quick, easy and light hearted read with touches of sadness; which, with the Christmas cheer sprinkled generously will make you turn pages to find out what happens next. If that’s not enough, you get a glimpse of rural but gorgeous Devon and there’s also some posh, adventurous dates, Classic cars and Christmas parties.

Get your copy here:

Amazon UK
Amazon US
Amazon India

If you loved the sound of this story, I am sure you will love to read more by this author, I know I will pick up a few more stories by him when I can. Find out the other stories written by TA Williams here

Reviewed by Bharti

Leave a Reply

