Author Guest Post

Across Great Divides by Monique Roy, Blog Tour – Q & A

Hello fellow bookworms, I have a Q& A for you on an interesting topic which is what this book Across Great Divides is based on. The Q& A is part of the Blog Tour organised by the awesome Jenny over at Neverland Blog Tours, go give her a follow over at Twitter.

Book

Across Great Divides

Title: Across great Divides


Author& Publisher : Monique Roy

Buy it on: US Amazon | UK Amazon | Kobo | ibookstore | Barnes and Noble

Story

Across Great Divides is a timeless, World War II story of the upheavals of war, the power of family, and the resiliency of human spirit. When Hitler comes to power in 1933, one Jewish family refuses to be destroyed and defies the Nazis only to come up against another struggle—confronting Apartheid in South Africa.

More on book As Jews, life becomes increasingly difficult for identical twin sisters Eva and Inge under the oppressive and anti-Semitic laws of Nazi Germany. After witnessing the horrors of Kristallnacht, they flee their beloved homeland, finally finding a new home for themselves in the beautiful country of South Africa; however, just as things begin to feel safe, their new home becomes caught up in its own battles of bigotry and hate under the National Party’s demand for apartheid. Will Eva and Inge ever be allowed to live in peace? Across Great Divides is a tale of one family’s struggle to survive in a world tainted with hate, and the power of love that held them all together.

                         Q n A

Q: Please give us a short introduction to what Across Great Divides is about.

A: Across Great Divides is a timeless story of the upheavals of war, the power of family, and the resiliency of human spirit, centered in one of the darkest periods in history. When Hitler came to power in 1933, one Jewish family refuses to be destroyed and defies the Nazis only to come up against another struggle—confronting apartheid in South Africa.
As Jews, life becomes increasingly difficult for identical twin sisters Eva and Inge under the oppressive and anti-Semitic laws of Nazi Germany. After witnessing the horrors of Kristallnacht, they flee their beloved homeland, finally finding a new home for themselves in the beautiful country of South Africa. However, just as things begin to feel safe, their new home becomes caught up in its own battles of bigotry and hate under the National Party’s demand for apartheid. Across Great Divides is a tale of one family’s struggle to survive in a world tainted with hate, and the power of love that held them all together.

QWhat inspired you to write a World War II story?

A: My grandparents were European Jews who fled their home as Hitler rose to power. It’s their story that inspired me to write Across Great Divides, my second book.

Q: How much of your book is based on real events and how much is fiction? 
A: Most of Across Great Divides is fictional. My grandfather left us a 10-page document that retold how they fled Europe over the Pyrenees Mountains. Only two small parts of my book mimic what my grandparents experienced and the rest is all fictional.

Q: How was the reception of Across Great Divides? Was it anything you expected?
A: I’ve sold more than 2,400 copies and have received some wonderful reviews. I am grateful for the good reception and hope to get more fans! When you put your book out in the world, it is both a scary and exciting moment. You never know how it will be received. I never expected 200 people to read my book, let alone 2,000.

Q: Besides writing, what other secret skills do you have?

A: I took private art classes for 12 years as a kid and was pretty good at painting! But I have not picked up a paint brush in a long time. I also can play a fine game of tennis, which is another passion of mine. 

Q: How much research did this book require from you?
A: When I place history into my writing, I want it to be accurate and interesting to my readers. I spent endless hours researching, discovering for historical gems, and finding a unique way to add it to my story where it adds value, either to dialogue, backstory, plot, character development, etc. I am unable to measure research in exact time, but the history is interesting and it most always sucked me in.

Q: Tell us about your writing habits – favorite writing spot, pen or laptop, morning or evening, plotter or pantser?
A: I mostly write curled up in bed with my laptop at the end of a long day. I work full-time so writing actually helps me relax and let’s my mind wander, transporting me to the past and enabling me to explore the present. Sometimes I free write and shut down my laptop. This helps me be more creative and sometimes I find some great nuggets of writing to insert into my novel. I am both a plotter and pantser. I believe you should plot out the main storyline and then sometimes the story unravels itself as your writing progresses.

Q: What are you working on right now?
A: I am working on another historical fiction novel that is set in Germany during WWII and in present-day London and Oxford. It is basically about an Oxford art student who is left her grandfather’s art gallery upon his death and learns of a missing family painting, a van Gogh.
Where can our readers discover more of your work or interact with you?

Do check out the other blog stops on tour for reviews and guest posts.

Author 

Monique was born in Cape Town, South Africa, and her grandparents were European Jews who fled their home as Hitler rose to power. It’s their story that inspired her to write Across Great Divides. She is also the author of a middle-grade book, Once Upon a Time in Venice, and Monique is working on her third novel, which also takes place during the World War II era.

Readers can learn more about me and my books at www.monique-roy.com. They can also follow me on social media. Find me on Twitter @MonWriter1. Or follow me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AcrossGreatDivides/

Bharti

Leave a Reply

