Author Guest Post

The Angel by Katerina Diamond, Blog Tour ~ Author Guest Post

Hello fellow readers, I have a fun author guest post for you today. Katerina’s books are dark, gritty and have a smartness about them. So read on to find what the author finds inspirational and obsessive. Happy Reading. Do follow the other blogs in your to catch up in reviews and more guest posts.

Book

Title: The Angel

Author: Katerina Diamond

Publisher: Avon Books UK (A HarperCollins Imprint)

Published: 21/9/2017

Story

Following hot on the successNo. 1 Kindlebestsellers THE TEACHER and THE SECRET, the queen of grip-lit is back. Katerina Diamondhas proved herself to be a hugely powerful new voice in the psychological crime thriller genre, and this book does not disappoint. Focussing on the prison system, it is gritty and compelling – filled with characters that will keep you guessing until the very end.

THE TRUTH WON’T STAY LOCKED UP FOREVER

When a burned body is found in a disused signal box, suspicion falls on lonely teenager Gabriel Webb. There’s no doubt he was at the scene of the crime, but does he deserve what awaits him in prison?

DS Imogen Grey is certain there’s more to the case than meets the eye. But while she struggles to convince those around her of the truth, her partner DS Adrian Miles is distracted by his own demons.

When a brutal double murder is reported, their investigation is stopped in its tracks. Is the body in the box even who they thought it was? The duo realise Gabriel might have been locked up for a crime he didn’t commit. But with enemies watching Gabriel’s every move, they may be too late.

Miles and Grey are back in the thrilling new novel from bestselling author Katerina Diamond, perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M.J. Arlidge, Orange Is The New Black and Locked Up.

                        Guest post

My slight obsession with superhero movies, and The Winter Soldier.

I watch a lot of TV and movies. I think it helps to keep my mind in storytelling mode. I particularly love watching action movies. We are lucky because there is a huge quantity of superhero movies being released right now. I know a lot of people complain about that but it’s not going to stop so it’s better to just get on board. One of my favourite movies in the superhero universe is The Winter Soldier. It’s the second in the captain America movies and personally I think it’s a masterclass in how to make an action thriller. While you probably do benefit from having seen the first Captain America movie beforehand, it’s a fantastic standalone. I have a terrible memory for films, probably because I watch so many, so I really wasn’t expecting the film to take the turn that it did. Add to that the fact that I have never really been a fan of Captain America comics, I was always more Batman, Spider-man, or X-men, so I really knew very little about the Captain America storyline. I just figured he was some overly patriotic boy scout, which is kind of what he is, but the complexity within the story really intrigues me. Chris Evans has brought the character to life in such a brilliant way. I was concerned that he wouldn’t be able to do it because he was the cocky Johnny Flame in the Fantastic four, but he is so different in both. Captain America really is a testament to how well he understands the character, he has given him depth I didn’t think possible.

What really keeps me hooked is the relationship between The Winter Soldier and Captain America, and I do really have a soft spot for the winter soldier, who was essentially tortured and moulded into an assassin. It’s not his fault! Since I started writing crime novels I tend to look for the good in a villain, because that’s my favourite bit, if there is no good there, the villain doesn’t seem like a real person to me, and therefore I’m less interested in their story. I like to be able to see where the villain is coming from, even if I don’t agree with them. I once heard someone say about storytelling that in the mind of every character, hero or villain, they are the protagonist. That really sat with me, Every single person has their own goals that they want to achieve, and they believe they are right in wanting them. Without that, a story will fall flat.

In Captain America: Civil War, the third of the Captain America movies, The Winter soldier is forced to face the fact that he killed lots of people while under the mind controlling influence of Hydra. He remembers his victims but he knows he has no reason, he had no choice but to kill them. That’s what he was programmed to do. He’s deeply disturbed by that fact as it goes against who he used to be, a soldier that fought against evil. Through all this, when Cap and Bucky finally meet up again, Steve looks for the good in him, and won’t give up on him. I love this relationship more than any other in the comic book world. I particularly love how in Civil war, Steve basically turns everything upside down to protect his friend because he knows he is good on the inside. That’s beautiful.

Action movies have really taught me a lot about pace and content, about how many twists is too many twists and in a good action movie, character is just as important as action. Because I like to keep a steady pace in my novels, I consider watching films like this as research. You get a feel for fast storytelling that doesn’t sacrifice subplots and character in order to get through the plot. The Winter Soldier will remain one of the most perfectly formed spy thriller’s in my mind.

Author

Katerina Diamond lives on the east Kent Coast with her son and daughter. Born in Weston-super-Mare, she has lived in various places since including Greece, Cyprus, Derby, East London and Exeter. Her first novel reached number six in the Sunday Times Bestseller chart.

Blogger ~ Bee

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s